D.E.A.R. Day, Part Two

A conversation between Adam and me:

Me:  I’m a reading person.  I understand it better when I read it.
Adam:  I’m a radar person.  I only understand things through radars, so if you wrote me a note, I wouldn’t understand it.  You’d have to send pictures of your day in a radar.

This is just a tiny peek at the teasing I must endure on a daily basis!  Lucky for Adam, he’s awfully cute and, thus, awfully forgivable. 😛  But it’s true what I said, and since I understand (and like) things better when I can see the words, here are some more words that I read and liked!  As stated in the last post, I hope to incorporate our favorite passages and poems in the wedding.

You, you only, exist
We pass away, till at last,
our passing is so immense
that you arise: beautiful moment,
in all your suddenness,
arising in love, or enchanted
in the contraction of work.

To you I belong, however time may
wear me away. From you to you
I go commanded. In between
the garland is hanging in chance; but if you
take it up and up and up: look:
all becomes festival!

-Rainer Maria Rilke

Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half-light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly, because you tread on my dreams.

-William Butler Yeats

I love you. I am who I am because of you. You are every reason, every hope, and every dream I’ve ever had, and no matter what happens to us in the future, everyday we are together is the greatest day of my life. I will always be yours.

-Nicholas Sparks, The Notebook

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight
For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.
I love thee to the level of everyday’s
Most quiet need, by sun and candlelight.
I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;
I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.
I love thee with the passion put to use
In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.
I love thee with a love I seemed to lose
With my lost saints, – I love thee with the breath,
Smiles, tears, of all my life! – and, if God choose,
I shall but love thee better after death.

-Elizabeth Barrett Browning

I know this last one is commonly recited, but its popularity doesn’t make it any less thrilling.  All of the passages above have a sweetness and excitement that I adore.  They make me want to marry Adam tomorrow, instead of waiting moons and months!  More to come, as I find them!

August 21, 2009. Reading.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

